31st January 2010



The entry for this event is similar to the recent Zeltweg race, but with three additions and with respect to two of those, one notable addition. This being Stirling Moss with a Rob Walker Cooper T.45 - persuaded to attend with the promise of a big bag of starting money - and aimed at giving Behra some competition following the Frenchman's easy win at Zeltweg. The other two newcomers are both Cooper mounted; Andre Guelfi brings his blue car while an entry not seen before is a white Cooper for German driver Wolfgang Seidel.

There are a few driver changes from Zeltweg, too. Christian Goethals returns to the seat of the Belgian Cooper while the second OSCA will be driven by Gino Munaron, replacing de Tomaso. Finally, Porsche, it is said, have made a significant breakthrough with the performance of the central seat RSK and so have drafted in Wolfgang von Trips to see if the car can be truly competitive with the rest.

There may have been closer races in the 45 years that I have indulged in this hobby, but I cannot remember a three-car finish this close. For most of the race the lead changed hands between three drivers, Moss, Behra and Cabianca. The OSCA retired just a few laps from the end although by then the Italian had slipped off the pace. His place in the battle was rapidly assumed by von Trips in the Porsche, going like never before. With ten laps to go Moss led from Trips, with Behra seemingly unable to stay with the other two. The gap between Moss and von Trips was 4 seconds with Behra a further 4 seconds behind the German.

Never discount Jeannot! After a truly stunning series of laps the little light blue car had caught von Trips and pushed him closer and closer to Moss. Starting the final lap von Trips had taken the lead but Behra passed both Stirling and Wolfgang on that final tour and the three crossed the line covered by just 0.7 of a second. A truly thrilling conclusion.

The rest were also-rans but Tony Marsh settled into a steady 5th place which became 4th when Cabianca stopped. Ivor Bueb held 6th all the way until he too moved up a place near the end, leaving Tim Parnell to complete the top six. He should have been further forward but lost a huge amount of time with oiled plugs early on, dropping to last but one after 10 laps. His pace thereafter was very good but one after 10 laps. His pace thereafter was very good but nothing near to the flying quartet at the front..


  1.     7 J. BEHRA BEHRA PORSCHE   55. 50'88
  2.     8 W. von TRIPS PORSCHE RSK   55. 51'40
  3.   16 S. MOSS COOPER CLIMAX T.45   55. 51'58
  4.     2 T. MARSH COOPER CLIMAX T.45     59 laps
  5.     6 I. BUEB LOTUS CLIMAX 12     59 laps
  6.     1 T. PARNELL COOPER CLIMAX T.45     58 laps
  7.     5 H. ZWEIFEL COOPER CLIMAX T.45     58 laps
  8.     4 P. MONTEVERDI LOTUS CLIMAX 12     57 laps
    10 G. CABIANCA OSCA     57 laps
    12 J. CAMPBELL-JONES COOPER CLIMAX T.45     40 laps
      3 C. GOETHALS COOPER CLIMAX T.45     35 laps
    11 G. MUNARON OSCA     17 laps
      9 C. de BEAUFORT PORSCHE RSK     16 laps
    11 W. SEIDEL COOPER CLIMAX T.45       8 laps
    15 A. GUELFI COOPER CLIMAX T.45       7 laps
            Fastest lap: von Trips, Porsche RSK on lap 39, 53'01

The next race for F.2 cars will be the Aintree Trophy which has attracted a very strong entry of British runners including the works Lotus 16s of Allison and Hill, plus Rob Walker Coopers for Trintignant and Brooks.

Back to the general F.2 results page.

Back to my home page.